“If I say, ‘Do it,’ they’re going to do it.”

Donald_Trump_August_19,_2015_(cropped)This should frighten all of North America!

It certainly frightens me. It is one thing to be disgusted with this man because of his arrogance, his narcissism, his base language and imagery, his wild claims of superiority. It is a joke. It is amusement to many. It is entertainment.

I thought is was amusing when Marco Rubio started going after Trump, though the process debased Rubio.

I thought and still think John Oliver’s clip on Trump is funny and instructive. I enjoyed Mitt Romney’s excoriation of Trump’s reputation and accomplishments. Even while I worry I am becoming obsessed with American politics, there was always the background thought that none of it matters that much to me, that if the republicans win, my investments go up, if Bernie wins the world might be more fair.

It’s all pretty inconsequential in the background of my life.

NOT.

I did not see the Fox New Debate on Thursday night (March 3, 2016). Their male anchor in pointing out concerns made by senior ranking retired military and CIA personnel asked him a question about water-boarding and killing terrorist’s families.

Certainly Trump prides himself in not being politically correct…or even civil, really. His response when I saw it replayed on You Tube was one of those jaw-droppers.

“We should go tougher than water-boarding.”

What?

This guy is running for President, for their vaunted Commander-in-Chief, and wants to go tougher than water-boarding? Even Jessie Ventura calls this a war crime.

The anchor tried to clarify over Trump’s ranting, “But targeting terrorists’ families?” indicating yet again that the military he was commanding would NEVER obey that order, that they are trained to disobey such an order.

Trump was undaunted. “I’m a leader. I’m a leader.”

Trump has never been in the military. And remember, he has mocked one of the USA’s most decorated war heroes, preferring heroes that ‘don’t get caught,’ he said.  So he has never lead in a military sense.

He has fired people, of course. In business, he has told people what to do. Not sure if that experience ever included telling them to do stuff that was illegal.

“I’ve always been a leader. I’ve never had any problem leading people.”

Ordering people to torture and kill other people has different consequences though.

In response to the question, and the concern that the military would not obey an illegal order, would not commit a war crime for him, he responded with the most frightening statement of all:

“If I say, ‘Do it,’ they’re going to do it.”

Oh my god. What did I just hear?

“If I say, ‘Do it,’ they’re going to do it.”

He is not asking. He is not leading. He is commanding.

“If I say, ‘Do it,’ they’re going to do it. That’s what leadership is all about.”

I remember the stunned look on the faces of the three news anchors on Fox News, several weeks ago, when he phoned in the response that he would ‘Take out’ [meaning kill, folks, he’s not going to date them] the families of terrorists. The anchors were speechless. The woman in particular was not sure what she had just heard.

I played the clip of Trump’s answer on the debate last night, over and over.

Now, I have read the history of the Weimar Republic and Hitler’s rise to power in 1933, with his extreme language, his aggressive nationalism (did he say he would make Germany great again?) his coteries of Brown Shirts and Black Shirts who would beat up people at his rallies, his abuse of scapegoats (like Mexicans?). Before 1937 he just looked like any other power-hungry politically incorrect politician.

“If I say, ‘Do it,’ they’re going to do it. That’s what leadership is all about.”

I need to translate this into German, and yell it in my back yard to see what it sounds like, while waving my right arm up and down (or maybe just holding up my right hand with my index finger pointing up-ward).

While I’m about it, I could translate, “We’re going to win, win, win,” and a few other choice phrases, just to see if it sounds like Herr Drumpf.

Illegal torture and other war crimes?

“If I say, ‘Do it,’ they’re going to do it. That’s what leadership is all about.”

What happens when the President of the United States of America orders his generals to torture prisoners, to kill innocent family members of prisoners? What happens when the generals refuse.

He insists.

They refuse.

He says “You’re fired.”

With the full intention of hiring someone who will do it.

“If I say, ‘Do it,’ they’re going to do it.”

Then the Generals must make the horrendous decision: War Crimes or Treason. Illegal acts or Military Coup. What else can they do?

This is why an erratic, illogical, hugely powerful leader…not leader anymore, remember he is not asking or leading, he is telling…he is DICTATING…this is why such a man is dangerous. It’s like Hitler in 1933.

And it’s not leadership anymore.

“If I say, ‘Do it,’ they’re going to do it.”

It’s Dictatorship.

 Same Day, Same Guy (Fast Forward Three hours)

Donald Trump as now recanted this statement on a tweet. He has stated NOW that he won’t do anything illegal, won’t order his military to commit illegal acts. I am gratified that he read my blog, but…

What was this, then, Herr Drumpf, a trial weather balloon?

 

Leave a Reply

